Craft Party Sleepover

hairtop

My little sister spent the night on Sunday evening and I used the opportunity to turn our slumber party into a craft session. I have felt a little bogged-down lately by things that “need” to be done or more practical projects, so I wanted to dedicate an evening to frivolous, just-for-fun creativity. I am hoping to make a habit of these crafting sessions and being the eternal organizer I am, I have already thought up themes for each night. The inaugural session was dedicated to hair accessories. My sister is a bit obsessed with her hair – she always has a new, trendy ‘do and she has gone through at least a dozen hair colors in the last year, so I knew she would be interested in hair ornaments. I was inspired by these projects:

hair1

I assembled our materials (I have tons and tons of fabric scraps, ribbons, beads, trims, etc.) on the coffee table, prepared some refreshments, and got to work. My sister escaped with her headbands before I got a chance to take a picture, but she came up with several cute things.

The inspiration projects are geared toward wedding hair decorations and although my wedding is long done, I think they would definitely make cute accessories for either a bridesmaid or just a fashionable guest!

I made a headband inspired by the ruffly headband tutorial listed above. I singed the edges of circular petals so the effect is slightly different. I really like the way the white ruffles contrast with the navy blue grosgrain ribbon. My favorite piece is probably the white poppy hairpin. It has a really delicate effect. I also made a silly little felt leaf hairpin to get in the spirit of fall and a couple of simple Swarovski-embellished bobby pins. I didn’t get a chance to make everything I wanted to… so you know what that means – we will have to have another craft night! Maybe next time I can snag a few pictures of my sister – she makes a much better model than I do.

hair3

hair4

hair5

hair2

Leave a Reply

