Dirty Secrets…

I have a dirty secret.  A dirty little kitchen secret, in fact. Despite the fact that I may seem obsessively organized (to the point of color coding, in fact!), there are certain areas of my life that have remained untouched by order. One of these places is the pots/pans cupboard in my kitchen. Things aren’t even stacked, but rather, artfully piled in a dark and somewhat frightening disarray. The arrangement IS artful – a touch from an unskilled hand (like my husband’s) will send the whole mess toppling down in a deafening crash. I take a little bit of twisted delight in placing clean pots back into the fray, carefully balancing them at juuust the right angle.

The rest of the kitchen isn’t bad, but it isn’t great. When we moved in, Tyler even hung shelves and organizers for me in a broom closet to turn it into the sweetest little pantry. Thank goodness, too, because otherwise we would have nowhere to store our food. This is the room I have procrastinated tackling as I have pursued my various “domestic beautification efforts” around the house. Partly it’s because there is a lot of rather dull work to do. I still need to finish unpacking our wedding loot and then evaluate which of these presents have suitably replaced old items (like all the awesome new bakeware I got!). The kitchen is also full of under-utilized space (ridiculous tall shelves, cavernously deep cabinets) that need organizational implements to make best use of the existing space. I was waiting to figure out how we used the space before I bought a bunch of stuff… Well, it’s been 6 months, so I guess now is as good a time as any. So, I signed up for The Fall Kitchen Cure. 4 Weeks to a better kitchen. Care to do it with me? I bet your kitchen isn’t much better than mine. At the very least, it’s a good excuse to get everything in tip-top shape for cookie-baking weather.

4 thoughts on “Dirty Secrets…

  1. I would join you, but we are getting ready to add on to the house so I have a bigger kitchen!!! At one point my kitchen was organized, then as more and more stuff got added to it, it became what I call over-organized. Everything had a place, but it was like a jigsaw puzzle and if you used anything you had to re organize the whole shelf/drawer. Now I just have stacks of stuff everywhere. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Cure 2009 – Week 1 « Ad Astra per Aspera

  3. Pingback: Kitchen Cure – Week 2 « Ad Astra per Aspera

  4. Making the decision to get your closet organized is a step in the right direction. The task can see too much in the beginning, but with some helpful tips you will get the job done.

Leave a Reply

