Craft Night Refreshments – no boys allowed

One of my friends has recently announced she will begin hosting an open craft night once a month for the ladies of our circle. Of course, I’m excited about working on projects while having a chance to socialize with all these lovely ladies, but I’m also excited to have an opportunity to try out some new recipes I’ve found-and many still yet to be discovered!

Girls deserve special goodies. Normally when I make something for a group it’s for a mixed crowd, or one dominated by husbands, so that influences my recipe choices. Men like things that are “hearty”. Big, chewy cookies and brownies, nothing with too many layers or flavors or delicate little crusts. They like things they can eat in one, impressive CHOMP. Frankly, I’m not going to spend three hours slaving over a special delicacy when I know that it will be devoured, not savored. That doesn’t mean this is *bad*, just that it requires a different mindset. These are a few things I’ve picked out that the ladies might like:

Cookie Dough Truffles

S’mores Cupcakes

5 thoughts on “Craft Night Refreshments – no boys allowed

  1. My 3 girlfriends and I had “craft club” once a month for a few years – food, some sort of random craft and a lot of talk about our significant others. We were all married at the time, none of us had kids. It was a blast. Then we all bought houses, moved to random sides of the burbs and they all started having kids (while I got divorced)…and then it ended. Your post reminded me of those good old days.

  2. I’m your blog stalker. I comment too much and I’m starting to feel self-conscious about it. But here I am again…

    I’ve been wanting to try those cookie dough truffles. At xmas time I made the ones with crushed oreos and cream cheese dipped in chocolate – fantastic! Also made them with Nutter Butters. Mmmm.

    But the real reason I came back was I just thought of the awesome chorizo and goat cheese rolls I made a couple months ago and had to share it. I think I got it from Food & Wine magazine…but who needs a recipe. It’s just goat cheese (I used herbed goat cheese because it was on special for 1/2 price and I’m cheap like that), chorizo – fried and drained well rolled in phyllo dough like little egg rolls. Bake. So, so good and fast.

    Here’s the link – http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/goat-cheese-and-chorizo-rolls

    • you don’t comment too much. everyone else DOES NOT COMMENT ENOUGH. Speak up everyone! I like comments…

      thank you for each and every one of yours : )

  3. OOoooo! I made the cookie dough truffles at Christmas, they were a huge hit! I even liked them ok, and I do NOT like cookie dough. 🙂 The cupcake recipe looks really good, I’m going to have to hang on to that recipe.

  4. Fun! My bestie and I have a craft weekend once a month or so…it isn’t meant as a craft weekend, but since neither of us go anywhere without fiber on our needles, that’s how it ends up! Fiber, Wine, Gossip, Oh the joys of being a girl! tee hee!

Leave a Reply

