Pillow Talk

The living room desperately needs new accessories. I haven’t updated anything since we bought our sectional this fall and I like using textiles to pull the different elements of the room together. We have jute shades on the windows, natural linen curtains, white trim, pale blue walls, glass, metal, and wood elements, black frames and black and white photographs, a modern/rustic metal and wood entertainment center, silver light fixtures with linen shades, and cream carpet. A new coffee table is in the works and perhaps a rug. The sectional is a tan microfiber.

I love these soft shades of white and cream. They set a soothing mood and provide lots of interesting textural opportunities. I prefer low contrast and wish the sofa were a lighter hue to coordinate with my favorite pillows, but we thought that would be insane considering we eat almost every meal on the couch and Rory loves to splay out on the ground and rest her paws on the side of it. For us, pillows are practical, not just pretty. I use a minimum of five to create a nest for myself when I watch television and Tyler loves to nap on the couch.

These are inspiration photos. I have some materials already and will buy the rest of the fabric later. Pillows are so easy to sew it would be crazy for me to shell out upwards of $50 each, especially since the designs I favor are very simple to mimic. Canvas, linen, wool felt, faux fur and knits are all good candidates. I have a few existing pillows I may make over to fit in with the final decorating scheme. Reusing is one of the greenest (and cheapest!) things you can do. : )

Leave a Reply

