I Made This!

I designed the annual report for NetWork Kansas (The Kansas Center for Entrepreneurship). We initially planned for this to be a budget-friendly printed piece, hence the black and white, but we decided it was ultimately even more budget friendly to allow readers to do their own printing!  Layout design is one of my favorite job duties. I’ve enjoyed it since I was 11 or 12 and took an intro to InDesign course for my middle school yearbook staff. I started creating booklets full of information on my favorite figure skaters, peppering my own text with photos and quotes from the media. Since then I’ve created advertisements for newspapers, programs for musicians, postcards, brochures, invitations, menus, posters, and much more. I think designing for print can be extra satisfying because you get to touch your work. Sometimes the virtual nature of graphic and web design (and even digital photography) erects barriers between the artist and reality, but *print* has a magic that bridges that gap.

http://networkkansas.com/UserFiles/Servers/Server_3147303/File/AnnualReportFY2009.pdf

Leave a Reply

