Winter Reading List

The pause between fall and spring semesters gives me a few more hours to devote to reading and boy are there a lot of words I’d like to run my eyes over. I’ve had a great time exploring some different literature, but lately I feel the pull to read with a more deliberate purpose, with a view to influencing my writing and development in one way or another. The following is a loose plan for my winter reading pursuits, subject to change at the shifting of my whims, of course, but I’m excited about the direction. Many are books I’ve read before. I learned to read early and read often – and accordingly plowed my way through great authors like Roald Dahl and Madeline L’Engle nearly two decades ago, and sadly, my mind has forgotten the finer points of their creations and I’d like to flesh out the warm afterglow with characters, plots, and observations of writing style and story architecture.

 

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (reread)

Animal Farm (reread)

Everything that Rises must Converge

The Fountainhead

Island (Huxley)

The Moon Pool

Nausea (Satre)

The Satanic Verses (Rushdie)

The Stranger (Camus)

The 3rd Policeman

Watership Down

A Wrinkle in Time (reread)

Roald Dahl (reread)

Wizard of Oz books (reread)

 

If there’s time, I’d like to find some of Thomas Hardy’s lesser-known works, as well, and perhaps see what’s worthwhile in recent authorship. Any recommendations on new-ish releases? My literary snobbishness has guided me toward “classics” in the past, so I haven’t touched much that’s been published prior to my lifetime. There are, of course, exceptions, but I’d love to know what you think the “new classics” are.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Winter Reading List

  1. I’m not going to answer your question, sorry 🙂 Lately I’ve been interested in re-reading The Scarlet Letter and The Crucible. I still haven’t yet, but now I’m adding them to my own winter list.

  2. LOL! Hi Dad!

    Funny thing is a bunch of the people I have met in ATL through the blog call me Barista and they know my real name! And they even pronounce it wrong…bar-is-ta…instead of bar-eee-sta. I’ve lost my identity. I’m Cupcake Lady at work and Bar-Is-Ta in my personal life. Ugh!

    And again – hi dad!

Leave a Reply

